top of page
  • Ajith Madathil

Retrieving a row from an Excel table using Power Automate

Updated: Apr 1, 2020


The Power Automate action Get a row retrieves a single row from an Excel table.


Here I am using a valid key value (P2) which exists in my excel sheet.



Flow found a single row. Below is the output.


When I use a key that is a string, Power Automate returns an error.



If I try using an invalid key value (P23333).


This results in a 404 error.



Duplicate rows

Below I have an excel sheet that contains three rows with Id 101!



When I try to retrieve them:



Power Automate returns the first matched row. Below is the output:



Conclusions:

Action step Get a row retrieves a single row from an Excel table.


For duplicated row keys, it returns a single first matched row.


There is no need to use single quotes for string values.


If there is no match Power Automate will fail and return a 404 error.


If you want to handle the exception, then you could Configure run after setting ‘has failed’ in your next step.


14,910 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Compose action

Microsoft Power Automate (aka Microsoft Flow) provides lots of action steps out of the box. My favourite one is Compose. What does it do? What is the Compose action? The Compose action is like a stati

How to call an API using the Power Automate HTTP action

In this blog post I will access NASA's Astronomy Picture of the Day (APOD) API using Power Automate. The plan is to retrieve the picture of the day using the API and store it in a SharePoint document

Blog Categories
 
​

Beginner

Intermediate

 

Advanced

​

Power Automate Essentials

​

​

​

​

​

​

How can I help you?
​

I am happy to help at any time.  You can contact me via the official PowerAutomate community forum.  Tag me (@abm) on any post you make there if you would like to me take a look at it.

​

I am always available for both corporate training or 1-2-1 training for individuals. 

bottom of page